The (First) Long Haul

First off, it took over 3 weeks of struggling through a million phone calls, quotes, arguments, disappointments, empty words, broken promises, and wasted time just to get the camper to my backyard. On the day I finally got the camper, I had completely given up hope and thought I’d never get the Prowler, and therefore I wouldn’t be able to start my project. I mean I had become so pessimistic about the situation that up until the camper was driven into my yard, I didn’t believe it was truly mine.

BUT, all of that is irrelevant because I pushed through and got the camper!

I was so happy!

Possibly as happy as this baby.

The Redneck Social Network really works miracles though.

My friend Stephanie contacted her niece, who contacted her father, who contacted some buddies, who then contacted the niece’s step-dad, who then contacted me. It was incredibly impressive that people I know were able to find a person with a 5th wheel hitch, who was willing to haul the camper at a drop of a hat, around 6 PM on a Monday. And I am truly grateful for the trouble they went through.

Just add some duct tape.

Actually getting the camper on the road was a little difficult, as it was at the bottom of a grassy hill, and it had rained the previous day. So everything was quite slippery, and it took the original owner chain pulling Bobby’s truck, which was attached to the camper, to get the camper on the road.
Just as a tip, I brought some old particle board with me (that was too bent up to use on anything else) and put that under the tires of Bobby’s truck. This worked great, and was almost like a ramp to get out of the deep end. If I had brought 4 pieces, instead of just 2, I could have put it under all 4 tires and we probably wouldn’t have needed the chain haul.

Bobby’s truck pulling the camper up the hill.

The first thing we did was go to the gas station a couple of blocks away to fill the tires up with air. That was an extremely important detail I almost forgot, so if anyone reading this is planning on doing the same – DON’T FORGET THE AIR COMPRESSOR.

Stephanie tagged along for funsies, and Bobby was on point about filling the tires.

People were giving us strange looks at the gas station. I’m not sure why…

Maybe it’s because Stephanie was trying to comfort the camper.

Seriously though, Bobby was the best. He was kind, knowledgeable, patient, and as stubborn as me about getting this old hunk of junk to my house. If you ever need anything hauled in the Greenville / Anderson area, let me know, and I can give you Bobby’s number!

The only other issue we had was that a couple of the back lights didn’t work on the camper. Bobby didn’t care about that so much, as we were already planning on taking back country roads to my house. At one point a cop did get behind Bobby, and I panicked and pulled over hoping the cop would leave us be… Turns out he was just hungry, because he immediately pulled in to McDonald’s and never gave us a second look.

Other than that, the tires held up, and the camper didn’t disintegrate on the road (yes, that was a legitimate fear).

We made it to my house late, but fine. The next morning was wondrous. I loved waking up to see my very own Tiny House foundation, just waiting on me to start working.

First good morning picture!

Next up: Beginning Deconstruction.

2 thoughts on “The (First) Long Haul

  1. I love your project! My name is Whitney, I am completing a Certificate at Yestermomrrow Design Build school in Warren, VT. For my project I am researching the availability of homeowners insurance for tiny homes. If you own a tiny home please take a few moments to fill out this survey. Thank you for your time! https://www.surveymonkey.com/s/DXXW3X3

    also your project reminded me of this: http://cometcamper.wordpress.com/category/tiny-houses/ she came and talked at our class and I am sure would have some tips that could be helpful

Leave a Reply

